The Native New Yorker Takes on Rome: Exploring and Adapting

Inspiration could not have hit a worse time.  In the middle of my Italian I suddenly decided I must draft a version of this blog post.  So, this blog post starts here:

So I am writing this in the middle of my Italian class.  For the past week and a half it has been nothing but Italian.  I mean you should probably expect that when you go to study abroad in Italy.  But when culture shock sets in, it’s Italian 24/7.  I am not saying this is bad thing, it can be extremely overwhelming at times.  If I am not doing my Italian homework or arguing with my Italian teacher, I am trying to have awkward conversations with the doorman who speaks no English.  Needless to say it has been interesting.  Never thought I would have such difficulty trying to explain that the fire alarm went off and there is no need to call the fire department.

But to look on the bright side, I have finally figured out how to get around.  Of this I am so proud.  My sense of direction has now completely changed.  I am no longer afraid of adventuring outside by myself.  I have begun to remember roads and where they lead to.  A.K.A. no more grid system for me.  I have become completely obsessed with finding new bakeries and cafes to hang out in.

Whenever I go to a new city, finding a place that is special is very important to me.  At school I have tiny niches where I can simply sit by myself.  A solitary place where I can sit down and do my homework or just be by myself.  These places make each place I visit seem like home.  It makes one feel as though they do belong within that culture.  In New York City it was Central Park that was my place.  I spent long hours walking in the park.

Finding your special place for me is the key to adjusting.  In order to adjust I must find a place within the city that gives me a sense of belonging.  I am no tourist, yet I am not an Italian.  I am a foreigner in a foreign city.  Sometimes it can be so isolating.  Yet, it is the small cafes and small bakeries that remind me that no matter where I go, I can make a place feel almost like home.  Although I am still adjusting to the culture I have learned one thing, that no matter where I go in the world it is my heart that is truly my home. Yes, I have to adjust my habits and try and adapt to this new country.  But, I also know who I am.  I know what I can and cannot handle.

So before I get too corny, here are some pictures of Italy so far.

scenic view

street in Rome

 

beauty in Rome

light at the end of the tunnel

This entry was published on January 28, 2015 at 6:07 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

