The Native New Yorker Takes Rome: The Beginning

New York has officially come to Rome! I am so excited to begin my new adventure in a new city.  For those that do not know already, I will be studying abroad this semester in this wonderful city of Rome.  As an art history major, this city is the birthplace of Western culture.  So for the next three months I am going to use this blog to help me document my travels and experiences in this beautiful city.

To begin with, getting over jet lag has been literally the hardest thing ever.  Not only am I tired at five in the evening, but my eating schedule is also completely off.  It could be eleven in the morning and my stomach will start growling and I want to eat everything. But, I think: hey, in Rome do as the Romans do and eat gelato.  Or better yet, eat all the wonderful pasta and pizza that I can get my hands on.

Overall, for the past two days so far we have spent time just trying to get over jet lag and adjust to the culture.  Regardless of the amount of times I have travelled, it always comes as a shock when I realize that most cities are not on a grid system like New York City.  Although this makes it more difficult for me to get around,  I am surrounded by wonderful housemates who know how to read maos.  Once again another learning opportunity in which I can learn to navigate and further explore the city.   Also, hoping that eventually I will be able to actually read the map and direct the way myself.  (I know it’s sad that I have little experience reading maps).  But, never the less I shall learn over the next three months.

Other than that, we have all been just trying to settle in as best as we can.  I have a few pictures of Rome thus far.  There definitely will be more and true to The Native New Yorker, I am planning on trying to capture this city to the best of my ability.  Keep following and keep reading!  This is going to be a fun semester!Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 2.23.13 AMScreen Shot 2015-01-17 at 2.23.24 AMScreen Shot 2015-01-17 at 2.24.11 AM

This entry was published on January 17, 2015 at 7:45 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

