The Perfect Remedy

Image   

Although nothing terrible has happened today, I still feel as though something is amiss.  Often times I find myself wondering what life is going to be after high school.  As I’m sure all of you know, high school is a time of confusion, angst, and self image.  Everyone is so consumed in trying to stat afloat that you begin to feel as though your missing something.  But, for every senior in high school there comes a daunting moment when you realize, that your confused of what you want and who you are.  But sometimes letting go of the controls is what you need to figure out just what you need.  Sometimes a helping hand (or song) can make your journey just a bit easier.

   For tonight I chose the song Atlas Hands by Benjamin Francis Leftwich.  I’ve had his song on repeat for sometime but never really quite had the inspiration to write a review.  But tonight I do.  Benjamin was born in York, England and was raised listening to musical legends such as Nina Simone and The Rolling Stones. As he grew older he become interested in artist such as Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, and Arcade Fire  as inspirations.  At the age of ten he taught himself to play the guitar and continued to play throughout his teens.  After graduating from high school he ventured out on his own solo career.  He won some awards such as R1 DJ Zane Lowe’s “Hottest Record in the World Today” for his EP Photos, in 2011.

  Tonight’s song is from Leftwich’s album Last Smoke Before the Snow Storm.  When I first listen to the song, I was really struck by the lyrics.  Leftwich’s lyrics seemed to be the special remedy that I was looking for.  my favorite lines of the song were,

Take me to the docks there is a ship without a name there,
And it is sailing to the middle of the sea,
The water there is deeper than anything you’ve ever seen,
Jump right in and swim until you’re free.

After listening to the song at least ten times I began to fall in love with the rest of the song.  The soothing guitar strings and gruff but not to gruff singing made my heart melt.  I especially enjoyed the melancholia melody mixed in with the hope filled in the lyrics. It was exactly what I needed to end the page and begin a new chapter.

This entry was published on January 10, 2013 at 2:25 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

