An Anthem for the Burned Out

Today is Valentine’s Day.  Even though I have spent other year being single on the day of love, I managed with the overwhelming love of friends and tons of extra junk food.  But, now I’m just tired and burned out.  So while walking back to my dorm I started listening to this song I downloaded last night.  The song was We are young by fun.  Now I had downloaded one of their song’s years ago and was extremely happy to see that they had made the top 10 on Itunes.

Needless to say Fun.  is a fun band to listen to.  The three New York natives, Nate Ruess, Andrew Dost, and Jack Antonoff, first debut their premier album Aim and Ignite in 2009.  From there they have headlined for bands such as Jack’s Mannequin and ParamoreAnd just recently they have made it to the top 10 of Itunes with their single We are young (ft. Janelle Monáe).

So why this song on such a happy day?  Well here’s the answer, I was really struck by the passion and resistance I felt in this song.  The roughness of Nate Ruess’s voice is the perfect match for the angry toned music.  This is not to say I am angry but I just felt empowered by the song.  I’m also in love with the lyrics.  Basically they make no apologies for the fact that being young and reckless is what it’s all about.  So “tonight we are young” to “burn brighter than the sun”.

This entry was published on February 15, 2012 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under Set on Repeat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

